Tell Congress to Respect ALL Marriages Today!

On Wednesday, March 16th, Representatives Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), Barney Frank (D-MA), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Jared Polis (D-CO), David Cicilline (D-RI), and John Conyers (D-MI), announced the re-introduction of the Respect for Marriage Act (H.R. 1116) in the U.S. House of Representatives. Additionally, for the first time ever, Senators Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Patrick Leahy (D-VT) and Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) introduced a companion bill (S. 598) in the U.S. Senate. The bill would repeal the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA), and restore the rights of all lawfully married couples – including same-sex couples – to receive the benefits and responsibilities of marriage under federal law. The legislation would also provide married same-sex couples with over 1,100 federal benefits even if they moved to a state that does not recognize their marriage.  Currently Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Vermont and the District of Columbia all recognize same-sex marriages. 
  • Find Your Congress Member. To learn the name of your U.S. House Representative and your U.S. Senators, go to enter your address, or call the US Capitol Switchboard at (202) 224-3121 and ask to be connected to your U.S. House Representative or your U.S. Senators.
  • Keep PFLAG Updated. Let us know how your phone conversation or meeting went. Send an e-mail to Rhodes Perry, PFLAG National’s Associate Director of Policy and Programs.

Thank you for moving equality forward!